

# THE BLACKPOOL COUNCIL ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING

## 15 May 2024, 2.00 pm in the Council Chamber

# **Extended Order of Proceedings**

### 1. Seating

Council members and invited guests to their seats in the body of the Chamber, prior to the start of the meeting.

#### 2. The Mayor enters the Council Chamber

Actual order of entry: Mayor and Chief Executive

Seating:

Mayor (Councillor Gillian Campbell) To her place on the dais

Chief Executive (Neil Jack) To his place on the dais

**NOTE:** The Mayor Elect (Councillor Peter Hunter), the Mayoress Elect (Mrs Anne-Marie Hunter), the Deputy Mayor Elect (Councillor Kim Critchley) and Deputy Mayoress Elect (Denise Brooks), to remain in the Parlour.

#### **BUSINESS:**

#### 3. Apologies for absence

### 4. The Election of the Mayor of the Council

**To propose:** Councillor Kath Benson **To second:** Councillor Lynn Williams

This will then be voted upon.

### After the election of the Mayor:

- Ex-Mayor (Councillor Gillian Campbell), ex-Mayoress (Skye Campbell), ex-Deputy Mayor (Councillor Major Adrian Hoyle), ex-Deputy Mayoress (Mrs Sharon Hoyle) and Chief Executive (Neil Jack) to the Mayor's Parlour.
- At this juncture the meeting will be temporarily adjourned whilst the Parlour ceremony takes place.

#### Parlour ceremony:

- Investiture of the new Mayor and Mayoress with the Chains of Office.
- Presentation of bouquets by the ex-Mayor (Councillor Gillian Campbell) to the ex-Mayoress (Skye Campbell) and ex-Deputy Mayoress (Mrs Sharon Hoyle).

#### After the investiture (and whilst the Council meeting is still adjourned):

- The newly appointed Mayoress (Mrs Anne-Marie Hunter) and Deputy Mayoress (Denise Brooks), Ex-Mayoress (Skye Campbell), ex-Deputy Mayor (Councillor Major Adrian Hoyle) and ex-Deputy Mayoress (Mrs Sharon Hoyle) to return to their places in the Chamber.
- The Deputy Mayor Elect (Councillor Kim Critchley) to remain in the Mayor's Parlour prior to being announced into the chamber, following her election. During this time, the Civic Attendant will invest the Deputies with the Chains of Office.

#### 5. Entry of the new Mayor

#### Actual order of entry and seating:

Mayor (Councillor Peter Hunter): To his place on the dais

Ex-Mayor (Councillor Gillian Campbell): To her seat, adjacent to the Mayor Chief Executive (Neil Jack): To his seat adjacent to the Ex-Mayor

# 6. The Mayor, Councillor Peter Hunter, to make the Declaration of Acceptance of the corporate office of Mayor

 Presentation of bouquet by the Leader of the Council (Councillor Lynn Williams) to the Mayoress (Mrs Anne-Marie Hunter).

#### 7. The appointment of the Deputy Mayor of the Council

**To propose:** The Worshipful the Mayor, Councillor Peter Hunter

**To second:** Councillor Neal Brookes

This will then be voted upon.

#### 8. The Civic Attendant to announce the Deputy Mayor

• The Deputy Mayor (Councillor Kim Critchley) to enter from the Mayor's Parlour to her designated seat in the body of the Chamber.

# 9. The Mayor to ask the Deputy Mayor to make the Declaration of Acceptance of the corporate office of Deputy Mayor

 Presentation of bouquet by the Leader of the Council (Councillor Lynn Williams) to the Deputy Mayor (Kim Critchley) and Deputy Mayoress (Denise Brooks).

#### 10. The Mayor to pay thanks in respect of the service of the Ex-Mayor

- The Mayor and group leaders / representatives will have the opportunity to thank the Ex-Mayor for her service.
- The Mayor (Councillor Peter Hunter) will present a bouquet and past Mayor's medal to Councillor Gillian Campbell.
- The Ex-Mayor will have an opportunity to thank the Mayor.

#### 11. The Mayor to address the Council and ladies and gentleman of the town

• The Mayor to address the meeting in relation to his forthcoming year.

#### 12. Speeches of congratulations to the incoming Mayor

Group Leaders and councillors are invited to say a few words on the incoming Mayor. The Leader of the Council to share congratulations and best wishes from Bernd Tischler, Oberbürgermeister on behalf of the people of Bottrop.

NOTE: Councillors are advised that the incoming Mayor, Councillor Hunter, wishes to be addressed as Mr Mayor.

Invited guests retire for light refreshments.

Business in the Chamber proceeds according to the Council summons.

#### **Distribution:**

All Members of the Council
Chief Executive
Monitoring Officer
Deputy Monitoring Officer
Democratic Governance Senior Advisers
Member Services Officer
Civic Attendant Service